Private Pilots Licence


Private Pilots Licence (PPL ) 

The  (European) Private Pilots Licence is a recreational licence, which entitles the holder to fly almost anywhere in the world, with non-commercial passengers, operating aircraft up to 5700kgs.


The PPL (A) Private Pilots Licence (aircraft) syllabus aims to teach the student to fly safely and efficiently under visual flight rules (VFR) and covers the following.

  • Pre flight inspection, weight and balance, weather and en-route considerations
  • Aerodrome procedures, traffic patterns and collision avoidance.
  • Control of aeroplanes by external visual reference
  • Slow flight and stall recovery. High speed flight and spiral dive recovery.
  • Take off and landings. Normal, short field, obstacle clearance take offs.
  • Cross wind and glide approaches.
  • Flight by instruments plus 180 degree level turns
  • Cross country flight using Dead reckoning and radio navigation instruments
  • Emergencies, Engine failure after takeoff, forced landings, engine fires and brake failures.

Click here for the Student excercises record sheet

PPL Theoretical Knowledge Instruction

The theoretical knowledge part of the syllabus covers the following:

  • Air law
  • Aircraft general knowledge
  • Flight planning and performance
  • Human performance and limitations
  • Operational procedures 
  • Communications
  • Principals of flight
  • Meteorology
  • Navigation.

Examinations in the above subjects require a good deal of self study and a minimum mark of 75% is required for a pass. If a student is unsuccessful then they may retake the same subject (different paper) a total of 3 times. We also offer intensive ground school courses in all of the subjects.

The PPL Skill Test and Examination

The student must satisfy the flying requirements of the course before taking the skill test. It is an EFC policy not to put a student in for the skill test unless there is a high degree of certainty that the student will be successful.

The skill test will be taken in the same aircraft class of type that the student has been trained in.

The skill test must be taken within 6 months of completing the PPL (A) course.The skill test comprises of 5 sections and will be carried out by a CAA approved examiner, not your regular instructor.

  1. Pre flight operations and departure procedures
  2. General air work
  3. En-route procedures
  4. Approach and landing procedures
  5. Abnormal and emergency procedures.

The student must pass in all sections of the skill test. If only one section is failed then that one section may be taken again. If unsuccessful then the whole skill test must be retaken.

PPL (A) Validity- Revalidation and Renewal

The EASA PPL (A) licence is valid for life

The Single engine (piston) class rating is valid for 24 months

To carry passengers the licence holder must make at least 3 takeoff and landings in the previous 90 days


To obtain a new certificate of revalidation the licence holder must satisfy the following requirements.

1.In the 12 months prior to expiry, the licence holder must have logged 12 hours in single engine piston aircraft (SEP) of which 6 hours must be Pilot in Command (PIC).

The licence holder must also have made 12 takeoff and landings and completed a flight of no less than 1 hour with an instructor which must be signed off in their log book.


2. I f the requirements cannot be met then a proficiency check must be taken with an examiner within the 3 months prior to expiry.


If the certificate of revalidation has lapsed then a licensing proficiency check with an examiner will be required.